News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
And the winner is...!

And the winner is...!

James Ogden9 May - 13:44
Share via

End-of-season presentations

It's been so good to see the many awards events taking place around the club over the past few of weeks.

Earlier in the month, at the President's Ball, a number of our biggest club-wide acknowledgements were announced in front of almost 150, suited and booted in the Moorlands Grand Pavilion.

The clubhouse was bouncing on Sunday 5th May as all our mini-teams and a number of our Juniors had their annual Presentation Day.

Last Friday (17th) it was the turn of our Seniors as our Ladies XV, Men's 1sts, 2nds and the Beavers gather for the Senior Awards Dinner.

Below are some of the awards that's have been presented this year:

The Bruce Turner Award
presented in recognition of being an outstanding ambassador for the club and longevity of service
Winner: Margaret and Harold Smith

TL Asquith Trophy
outstanding contribution
Winner: Christine Akroyd

Sam Morill Trophy
outstanding contribution to the Junior Section
Winner: Sue Turner

Brian Young Memorial Trophy
outstanding contribution and leadership by a player
Winner: Ryan Harris

Chairman's Award
in special recognition to support given to the club
Winner: James Hodkinson

Paul Maguire Trophy
Brods Junior Team of the Year
Winner: Our Under 8s

Pete Szyczak Trophy 
unsung hero award
Winner: Richard Faint

Senior Players' Awards:

Ladies XV
Players' Player of the Year: Katie "Forrest" Murray
Coaches Player of the Year: Lucy Sheehan
Young Player of the Year: Rebecca Haworth
Forward of the Year: Sarah Dare
Back of the Year: Sophie Burn
Most Improved: Emma Davis & Shannon Tyson

Men's 1st XV
Players' Player of the Season: Elliott Craven
Player of the Season: Peter Ashton
Young Player of the Season: Leo Kemp
Most Improved: Charlie Culf

Men's 2nd XV
Players' Player of the Season: Adam Sutcliffe
Player of the Season: Jason Dodd
Young Player of the Year: Harvey Crossley
Most Improved Players: Adam Smith

Beavers XV
Players' Player of the Year: Stuart Brady
Captain's Player of the Year: Adam Lawson
Young Player of the Year: Joseph Walters
"In his prime" Award: Anthony Hammond
"Tap and Go" Award: Callum Harris

Further reading